National Geographic Photography – Western Wall, Jerusalem

I have always been fascinated by Israel and Jerusalem in particular. I have no idea when and why this fascination started. What I do know is that Israel is one of the most interesting places on earth. Since I’m someone who loves  to read about other cultures, religions and habits as well as history, Israel is very appealing. Not only the fact that a lot of famous stories from the Bible have allegedly taken place  here makes it so special. It is the whole mixture of cultures and religions, that are divided as well as connected to each other. Now that I am reading through a translation of the Qu’ran, I only realise this the more. A lot of names and stories I recognise, although I have  never been educated in Christian or Jewish religion. It is fair to say that religion has got my special attention, although again I don’t exactly know why. The fascinating aspect in Israel is that religion and the political situation are directly connected to eachother. In the western world, it seems like this is no longer the case, although maybe I should only speak for the country I live in, Holland. I do not say that I regret or like this- it is just that I think this situation in Israel is very interesting. All together I don’t have enough time to study everything I would like to study- Judaism, Christianity, Islam, Buddhism, Hebrew, Arabic, Spanish.. There will come a point in my life at which I will have to make a choice, but up untill then I will just keep doing like I’m doing now- it makes me happy.

 

This picture, taken in Jerusalem on  Sabbath, is a special one. The photographer has used the his camera in a beautiful way to create this mysterious and touching effect. Since photographing is one of my hobbys (I own a Nikon D70), I have been trying to learn about the technique the last couple of months. This includes terrible terminology like aperture, shutter priority and overexposure, which are really a torture for me, since I am terrible when it comes to everything that may even look like maths of science. However, I do think what has happened here: The photographer has chosen for a slow shutter speed (has ”opened” his lens for a longer time), which makes you notice the people are moving. This procedure is often used in sport photography, but here are  some example of using it which I love even more:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
3 Responses to “National Geographic Photography – Western Wall, Jerusalem”
  1. Amani says:

    Great post! Love the pics too 🙂

  2. The Pal Guy says:

    Wow, the traffic photo is stunning. Good job.

Leave a Reply

  • Read more

